Rediscovering Myself

We all face a turnover point at some time of our lives. (especially after watching movies like “Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara”, which tends to talk all about liberation  of souls), so in my case, it happened some two years back, when suddenly I decided to quit my job which is termed as the most conventional one for the females in our world, yes, you guessed it right, academics. Though, I was quitting from the position of the Joint Director of Distance Education of a Private University. Naturally, the position was good, and I was at the peak of my career, and at such stage normally, quitting is not so looked upon, especially when you don’t have another offer in your hand. Now this decision was more of a surprise to me as well, as I’ve never thought about it or planned about it. But once the thought is planted in my head, it refused to go away.

After quitting my regular job, I tried for some visiting teaching assignments, but I soon realised that I need a complete break. So, what next, I don’t know. As I said, I haven’t planned anything.And here starts my rediscovering stage. After working for more than a decade, with two kids, a full-fledged house responsibility, this liberation was more than welcome in my new found freedom. So, I decided to enjoy every moment of my freedom and rediscover myself.

And here I started my mission to learn new things.

The first of it was to try various recipes….

Oh! How I loved it! Yumm…..but then I detect a change in my tummy size too, errr..mmm…time to switch on to something different.

This was the time when I rediscover photography and writing. And I found out that it really works putting your emotions on paper  and clicking the beauty around you. Both helps in keeping the positivity flowing.

 Believe me creating something is such a heady feeling, that you’ll never want to stop. Creativity gives freedom to imagination. It acts like meditation.

The next passion which I rediscovered was fabric painting, which was introduced to my by Mom during school days. So, was kind of surprised to find that I actually love it. And here I goes, painted around 4-5 dupattas, and gifted all of them. What a heady feeling, once again. Meanwhile, also started learning ‘Madhubani’ Painitng from a friend. Painting is actually a pure sense of meditation, all your worries, problems, seems to get lost in between those colourful strokes. And the end product always makes you happier, more confident about yourself.

So here’s I’m rediscovering my passions, myself all over again. And without wasting any single day of my life. Have we talked about my love for reading yet, no? Okay, we will talk about that in my next post. Till then, just remember, life is too short and there are so many aspects about yourself which are lying hidden somewhere deep down you, so without further delay, start exploring yourself. You never know whom you can find underneath!!

Standard

10 thoughts on “

  1. And you found Ritu(the season) beneath that burdened soul of hectic life. Much love to you. There are millions of colours left untouched and billions of words are eager to penned down by you.
    More sunshine days didda 😘

    Like

  2. Loved it. Somewhat similar to my life which changed a few years back. I have also started all these activities after my daughter got married and I was all alone. You have described everything so beautifully. Keep blogging

    Like

  3. Loved it. Somewhat similar to my life which changed a few years back. I have also started all these activities after my daughter got married and I was all alone. You have described everything so beautifully. Keep blogging

    Like

Leave a comment